DARIAH Annual Event 2020: Scholarly Primitives


DARIAH Annual Event

DARIAH is a European Research Infrastructure for the Humanities and Arts. Its mission is to empower scholarly communities with digital methods to create, connect and share knowledge about culture and society. The DARIAH Annual Event offers the DARIAH community and humanities scholars in general the possibility to present results and new ideas; to meet and network. Participation in the Annual Event is free of charge, but registration is required.


Scholarly Primitives

It has been twenty years since John Unsworth famously formulated scholarly primitives -- discovering, annotating, comparing, referring, sampling, illustrating and representing -- as a set of basic scholarly activities across disciplines, theoretical frameworks or eras. We will use the DARIAH Annual Event 2020 as an opportunity to re-evaluate and probe the notion and scope of scholarly primitives in the context of the ongoing developments in the field of Digital Humanities and DARIAH’s continuous efforts in shaping an effective and sustainable research infrastructure that meets the needs of humanities scholars. Some of the questions that we hope to ask are: can we -- and should we -- put our conceptualization of scholarly primitives into a historical perspective as an expression of a particular stage in the development of Digital Humanities? Have scholarly primitives been conceptually robust enough to keep up with the field, which now includes big data, visual analytics, machine learning and artificial intelligence? Finally, are scholarly primitives -- and the way we speak of research as we build tools to support it -- free of ideology and bias?

DARIAH is happy to announce John Unsworth as a keynote speaker at the Annual Event 2020.





23-10-2019: CfP opens

05-01-2020: CfP closes

01-02-2020: Registration opens

14-02-2020: Notifications sent

17-05-2020: Registration closes

26-05-2020: Annual Event starts




Programme committee

Toma Tasovac (chair)

Femmy Admiraal (co-chair)

Koraljka Kuzman Šlogar (host)

Agiatis Benardou

Sally Chambers

Marianne Huang

Andrea Scharnhorst

Susan Schreibman

Andreas Witt

Online user: 1 RSS Feed